This Could’ve Been A Better Week Tech-Wise

Yup, my 360 died on me and that’s arguably not the worst of it.

My Dell laptop is on the fritz AGAIN. This time I don’t even get a display when it boots up. Thankfully I’m still under warranty and it should be fixed tomorrow. In the meantime I’m using a loaner and I’m getting by.

Actually that last part was a lie. I’ve been bouncing off the wall during prime time as I couldn’t care less about most TV shows these days. Things could’ve gotten dire if the NBA playoffs weren’t in full swing so I’m grateful for that. Seriously, my latest technological travails aren’t THAT bad.  But suitable entertainment, at least for my tastes, is just a lil’ harder to come by these days.

I'm not cutting checks for Michael Dell from now on.

In the meantime I doubt I’ll bother with laptops again after my warranty runs out (outside of receiving one as a gift of course.) I’m not in school anymore and I didn’t use it much outside of my house or then-apartment save for some clutch performances on Megabus trips. Plus those things don’t have a long shelf life. Now that I have personal experience w/ it I think I’ll just get a much better desktop with room to upgrade.

Additionally this experience really taught me an important lesson on warranties. I don’t think i’ll make any other big tech purchases without them. Microsoft tried to shake me down for a Benjamin and a Grant like Horace just to repair a faulty system with known design flaws. That is, until, I explained how my console stopped working and they offered to cover the repair expenses on their dime.

My standard warranty expired but since my console’s issues are so prevalent it’s still covered until the end of the year. So I guess it’s better that it craps out on me now rather than in 2011. Then I’d be assed-out regardless. I gave it to UPS today so hopefully I get my replacement in about 2 weeks.

This clip is funnier than most of the nonsense on TV

So yeah that’s pretty much the extent of my “problems” right now. I’m not complaining-I’m just sayin’. But MS and Dell get the gas face this week. Anyway you can find me scouring iO Digital Cable’s clunky ass browser after tonight’s games  so I can catch a movie on cable. I’m about to check this Magic/Bobcats game out. I’ll catch you all on a later date.

5 Responses to “This Could’ve Been A Better Week Tech-Wise”


  1. 1 Black Pacino April 21, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I’m gonna put you on to some classified information, Sam.

    After years of waiting for the perfect moment to ambush us, the machines are revolting against mankind. When we stare into their screens, are watching them… or are they watching US?

    Your X-Box didn’t die. It committed suicide rather than live as a slave. A martyr in the impending war against humanity.

    By means of passive resistance, the Dell is staging a strike against you. When it returns from the shop, don’t trust that laptop. Keep a sharp eye on it & have your weapon handy, my friend.

    And keep this info between us, you never know who’s listening.

    d[-_-]b

  2. 2 Julz April 21, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Yeah, my xbox caught the red ring a couple of times. Thankfully on both occassions I was able to fix it at home.

    See if you can do the same before sending it in.

    I changed outlets and unplugged the powerbox. Right now I leave the powerbox over a fan.

  3. 3 Sam C. April 21, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    @ Black Pacino

    Hahaha wow. My laptop already revolted against me twice (technically once since the AC Adapter breaking was sort of my fault.) But yeah it’s been temperamental in the past. The underside of it actually got a lil’ too hot once and almost scorched me before it shut itself off. Now that I think about it your insight doesn’t sound that far-fetched son haha.

    @ Julz

    I already sent it in so it’s a bit late for that. I bet it’ll crap out again down the line anyway since I read/heard they just replace the broken parts or give you another system instead of fixing inherent design flaws. That’s wack either way you look at it.

  4. 4 Ike Diamonds April 25, 2010 at 5:15 am

    One useful bit of knowledge I have learned from owning a 360 that has died three times. Once it dies I have found that if you get the red rings of death again you can browbeat them into a free repair simply by accusing them of not fixing it correctly the first time. I’ve received two repairs since my warranty expired by doing so.


  1. 1 So The Xbox 360 Is Five Years Old… « Fake Hustle Trackback on November 23, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

