Late Pass: Heroes

Heroes

I don’t watch a lot of TV outside of sports. Thing is, I mainly follow basketball and football in that order. So the summer is pretty much catch up season on  shows my friends constantly tell me to check out.

Lately I kept the netflix queue on point so I don’t feel out of place at the cooler. I’ve been on my NBC to do list and got caught up on the office earlier this month. Now, I’m engrossed in the first season of Heroes. I tried the first ep out back in December but I wasn’t feeling it. I gave it a shot again and ended up watching 3 or 4 straight shows after that.

Things are starting to stall mdway through the season: at least to me. I don’t want any spoilers but I can see the season finale cliffhanger coming from a mile away. I mean I do have sesason 2 and 3 on deck so things HAVE to carry over somehow.

Heroes 2

I’m surprised I like the show as much as I do. Usually I find it difficult to suspend my imagination in shows/movies that have characters do extraordinary things like superhuman abilities. The only exceptions would be something like Marvel/DC/Whatever comic book films because odds are I have some familiarity with how the protagonist got their powers in the first place. So far the powers granted to these individuals are explained by their “advanced genetic code” or whatever. Still it doesn’t seem too imaginative but I don’t blame them. If I was a writer on the show I wouldn’t come up with anything better.

Another thing, I wasn’t expecting the show to be as graphically violent as it is. People get GOT almost once an episode: like bloody, mangled, limbs missing-type tore up. I like it because it’s not overdone to the point that it’s cliche. Instead it shows just how evil cats like Sylar and Jessica can be.

It’s too bad it comes on the same time as football. This means I won’t watch most of the shows unless it’s a bad matchup/blowout. At that point it wouldn’t make much sense watching because the story isn’t self contained. I might as well watch it on my own turns (like now) when nothing is going on. Watching a show like that mid season is like starting a book at the halfway point. You miss out on a lot of details and you don’t get the whole picture when you reach the end.

So yeah I’m still going in on season one. I don’t know how to end this post so I’ll just post a flick of Tawny Cypress and Hayden Panetierre.

Tawny Cypress and Hayden Panetierre

I like ‘ol Tawny more but Hayden is bad too. I figured I might as well kill two birds with one stone. Have a good day ladies and gentlemen and watch Heroes if you haven’t already.

0 Responses to “Late Pass: Heroes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

