RIP Michael Jackson

NJNEW NEWARK STAR LEDGER

When I heard the news yesterday I didn’t want to believe it. I thought cats were joking or something. Then when I heard cats blast michael jackson songs in midtown it started to set in.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I played Thriller on the way back home and thought about what happened. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again. Thriller is the best pop album ever made. I mean Off the Wall and Bad are great but Thriller is his magnum opus. Not even the lame duet he did with Paul McCartney could deny it’s legendary status. It’s one of my favorite LP’s ever and it’s one of the first I ever listened to front and back.

Now don’t get it twisted. I’m not applauding this man for his questionable life decisions. I’m celebrating Michael Jackson: the musician. I don’t know if we’ll ever see another artist that will be as universally celebrated as MJ especially considering cats are still playing catch up. No other child performer could entertain and rock a crowd like he could. When he entered adulthood he dazzled us with catchy songs and electric performances. Sure the “moonwalk” is just a glorified backslide and the Smooth Criminal lean was smoke and mirrors. But he did these moves with his own twist. They looked deceptively easy but few could pull them off. On top of that no one could do them quite like Mike, so biters kept biting. And don’t act like you didn’t try to do that lean. I remember being a youngin’ and getting bumps in my head from all my failed attempts.

Michael Jackson 2

So here’s to a legend. We all cracked jokes at his expense but you can’t deny his imprint on pop music. RIP Michael Jackson, you WILL be missed.

1 Response to “RIP Michael Jackson”


  1. 1 Big Fan June 27, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I regret the loss of the King of Pop Michael Jackson! Jacko is a legend. I hope he gets where he is now, finally in peace.
    Leave also your last greeting at Michael Jackson on our site, thanks.
    a big and now sad fan


Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

