Listening Session: Meth & Red’s Blackout! 2

redman-methodman-blackout2-official

Vodpod videos no longer available.\

I just got through listening to this album AGAIN and said: “Hey, I like this. Why not upload it?” Then some time passed as I expended some frustration towards Imeem’s uploader/playlist apps. Anyway it’s up now and I’m surprised by how much I like this joint. No it’s not as good as the first Blackout. But it’s better than pretty much any other rap release this year so far save for Relapse.

Meth and Red

One of the aspects I like most about this LP is that Meth and Red kept their patented style while adapting to a new music landscape. There are club joints (A-Yo, Errbody Scream, Hey Zulu!, A Little Bit), a down south-esque feature with Bun B (City Lights), and some straight hardcore songs thrown in the mix (I’m Dope Nigga, Dangerous MCees, 4 Minutes to Lockdown etc.) Speakin of 4 Minutes, that’s easily one of the best songs from the whole album. Everyone goes in and Ghost doesn’t get too complicated in his rhymes. Like I said Meth and Red put in work on this project and it sounds good. Check it out.

Oh yeah, I’m finally getting around to hearing the latest Juan Epstien with, you guessed it, Red & Meth along with Busta Rhymes. I’m in full Red & Meth stan mode now haha. Check the link out provided by Pete Rosenberg at Rosenbergradio.com.

Juan Epstein – Red, Meth, and Busta Rhymes

1 Response to “Listening Session: Meth & Red’s Blackout! 2”


  1. 1 unknowntheartist May 25, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    i have to admit i’m a hardcore busta fan from way back but i got turned off Back on my BS because of all the useless remixes he kept leakin, i picked up Blackout 2 and remembered why Blackout 1 was on hevay rotation at mine a few years back. i can’t even listen to relapse while i have blackout 2 in my collection🙂


Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

