Happy Birthday Q-Tip!!

q-tip1

I mean the dude helped usher in a rap style for weirdos and backpackers like me. The least I could do is wish him a happy birthday. Quick side note, I was driving around and I found it funny that Angie Martinez wished dude such an enthusiastic happy birthday despite their “past.” Aye I can’t get mad at him. I wish I could say I got with Angie in her prime let alone be a legend in hip-hop.

Bad jokes aside, what I admire most about Tip is that he did rap HIS way. I don’t feel like he compromised his music for spins as he evolved artistically. Also he’s been at it since the 80’s and is still relevant to music. So many rappers and groups have either been influenced or tried to bite Tribe and Tip’s vibe but it’s been a classic case of “often imitated, never duplicated” 20 years running.

So yeah, let that last thought sink in. Enjoy these vids in the meantime.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

1 Response to “Happy Birthday Q-Tip!!”


  1. 1 Donna Withespoon April 12, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I love you Kamal!
    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

