Thursday (kinda) and Friday back home > My Semester Upstate so far

Yeeeeaaaahhh I'm so good on that.

Yeeeeaaaahhh I'm so good on that.

I’m only two days into my Spring Break and I’m enjoying the hell out of it. I don’t have to go to Cancun or some other far away locale to do me.

It’s never been my thing to drop like $300 on a travelocity package for a 4 night stay at Cancun or somethin’. I may sound like I’m hating but these spots look like STD incubators and offer too many opportunities for those “OOPS! It’s Junior Time!” texts 4 months later from some girl you forgot all about.

Anyway, let’s get down to what I did so far

Thursday

mega_bus_front_opt

Oh you on that megabus ha?! (c) Juvey

I got on that megabus at 6:15 and took a roughlyl4 and a half hour ride into Manhattan. I had both seats to myself with mad leg room. That was SO crucial considering that coach buses aren’t built with tall cats in mind. The bus also had wifi but it kept goin’ out. I rocked it for as long as I could until my laptop battery gave out. From there I took my big ol suitcase to Penn Station and had to wait about an hour for my train. I got home by like 1 in the morning but it was worth it.

Looking back at my trip I realize that I listened to the most random collection of albums and tapes.  Check the list to see what I mean.

What I listened to on the bus (from what I can remember.)

sofargonefrontfinal

Drake – So Far Gone

Vodpod videos no longer available.

What can I say, this tape makes for good travel music. I think this coulda been a decent album if he cut out a few songs.

big-puinisher-capital-punishment

Big Pun – Capital Punishment

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I don’t want to go through the whole mad blogger schpiel about how Big Pun was a great rapper and how underappreciated he is. The only song I skip on this album is that Still Not A Player. Radio ruined that song for me. The original was always better anway in my opinion.

unsung_front_cover

Colin Munroe – Colin Munroe Is The Unsung Hero courtesy of onsmash

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I’ll admit that I could care less about most alternative rock out there. But for some reason Colin Munroe’s music gets through my huge alternative firewall. His sound is influenced by hip hop but it’s refreshing since he puts his own twist to it. Check out the tape if you haven’t already. It just sucks that I couldn’t run the whole tape (to my recollection) since my laptop died.

On that NJ Transit

You riiiiidin' on the train ha?! (c) Juvey

You riiiiidin' on the train ha?! (c) Juvey

brand-nubian-one-for-all

Brand Nubian – One For All

Vodpod videos no longer available.

It’s funny that I caught myself listening to this since I hiked on my boy for bein’ a backpacker and listening to Brand Nubian when he was in high school. I guess the joke’s on me now. All BS aside I always liked this album even though it came before my time. I only remember hearing all for one when I was really little. Every time I listen to this album I’m reminded that Grand Puba was really nice in his prime. Like if you listen to his verse’s compared to other cats from that era it’s easy to see that he was one of the best in the game at that point. So yeah this album makes my jansport north face complete haha.

By the time I got home (compliments of my dad) I was dumb tired. I got some food (compliments of my mom) and took it down.

Friday

times-square-ny

I took that NJ Transit again into midtown to meet up with a friend after work.  While I was on the train I listened to that War Report…

cnn-war-report

Vodpod videos no longer available.

and a little bit of that Elec

black-milk-elec

Vodpod videos no longer available.

We chilled for a little bit and I cracked jokes at her expense. It was cool catchin’ up since that’s my lil’ homey from the MTV internship days. I must be gettin’ old because by the time I got back from the train I didn’t want to go anywhere. That reminds me. I bumped that Layover EP mixtape on the way back.

the-layover-ep-mixtape

Evidence – The Layover Mixtape EP courtesy of 2db

So yeah when I got home I just played xbox and cracked jokes on live with my people until I took it down. So that’s what I’ve been up to until now. Nothing too out of the ordinary, but it looks pretty busy looking back on it.

1 Response to “Thursday (kinda) and Friday back home > My Semester Upstate so far”



  1. 1 This Could’ve Been A Better Week Tech-Wise « Fake Hustle Trackback on April 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

