I don’t know what to think: Santigold

santigold1

I was introduced to Santigold’s music right when last summer started. I was on some website, peeped some songs, and let’s just say I wasn’t a fan.

It’s not that I hated it or anything. What was messing me up was that I was trying to find out what the hype was all about since until that time I didn’t know anything about her. Fast forward to winter break, I finally heard that song where her sample on Brooklyn (Go Hard) comes from.

Aside from Spank Rock’s verse I can mess with it. The new hang up I have about ol girl is that with every song I like, there’s another that I either don’t like or don’t “get.” Take this for example.

Stuff like this turns me off to her music. The shrieking, the weird synth sounds, it all pushes me away. So basically, Santi is on a song by song basis with me as of now. If anything, listening to her songs reminds me of where my head was a couple of years ago music wise. I wouldn’t give most of her stuff the time of day back then since I was REALLY into rap, r&b, and soul music. I still am, but I find myself venturing out of my comfort zone more often.

1 Response to “I don’t know what to think: Santigold”


  1. 1 Kylo January 5, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Have you ever heard of eclectic style? It would be so boring if all her songs sounded the same.


Leave a Reply

Interviews

Add to Technorati Favorites
Fake Hustle

Add to My AOL

Music Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory

mp3 blogs

RSS onsmash

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

